The age of consent in Montana is 16 according to the Montana Annotated Code (2019) Section 45-5-625(c).  However, if either of the following applies, the age of consent is 18: However, regardless of the age of consent, a « child » means a person under the age of eighteen for the purposes of juvenile prostitution offences in Colorado. S.C.R. 18-7-401(2). A reasonable age error or similarity in old age is not a defense against these crimes. S.C.R. 18-7-407. All child prostitution offences are third-class offences (first-class offences are capital offences, second-class offences include second-degree murder). Thus, while it is not a crime for a 17-year-old to have non-commercial sex with a 60-year-old in Colorado, it is a felony punishable by four to twelve years in prison if an 18-year-old performs a sexual act or presents himself in a « place of prostitution » with the intention of doing so. for money or other things of value with a seventeen-year-old with the reasonable assumption that the minor was under eighteen. S.C.R.
18-7-406. The same conduct committed with an eighteen-year-old child and without the belief that the prostitute was under eighteen years of age would be an offence. S.C.R. 18-7-205. Persons under the age of eighteen are also children for the crime of provoking or forcing someone to have sex or sexual acts with another to satisfy the voyeur, or exposing themselves to another for the sexual gratification of the voyeur, C.R.S. 18-3-404(1.5), and the crime of child trafficking, S.C.R. 18-3-502. Connecticut recognizes that minors at least 13 years of age may consent to sexual activity if (and only if) there is less than 3 years of age difference. For example: The age of consent in Rhode Island is 16. Sexual intercourse with a minor between the ages of 14 and 15 by an 18-year-old actor is third-degree sexual assault, sexual intercourse with a minor under the age of 14 by an actor of any age is child abuse. However, there is an age-related exception that allows people between the ages of 16 and 17 to have sex with a minor who is 14 or 15 years old, but not younger.
  The age of consent in the District of Columbia is 16, except for persons under four years of age.  However, sexual relations between persons 18 years of age and older and persons under 18 years of age are illegal if they are in a « meaningful relationship. » According to the Code of the District of Columbia, a relationship is considered « significant » if one of the partners: Until 2014, there were civil court decisions in California stating that minors under the age of 18 can consent to sexual activity, even though the age of consent under state criminal law is 18.  However, section 4 of chapter 272 sets an additional age of consent at 18 if the victim has a « chaste life » and the perpetrator provokes it. On June 26, 2003, heterosexual and homosexual sodomy (between consenting, non-commercial adults in a private room) became legal in all U.S. states, the District of Columbia and the territories under the U.S. Supreme Court decision Lawrence v. Texas.  In Staat v. Limon (2005), the Kansas Supreme Court used Lawrence as a precedent to repeal the state`s « Romeo and Juliet » law, which imposed harsher penalties for heterosexual acts than homosexual acts with a similar age of consent offenses.  In the United States, the age of consent is the age at which a person can legally consent to sexual activity. Each state and territory sets the age of consent by statute or common law applies, and there are several federal statutes relating to the protection of minors from sexual predators.
Depending on the jurisdiction, the legal age of consent is between 16 and 18 years. In some places, civil law and criminal law are in conflict within the same state.  If someone knows a child thirteen years of age or older, but under the age of fifteen without violence, that person is guilty. Crime. For the purposes of this section, (i) a child under thirteen years of age is not considered to be a consenting child and (ii) « carnal intercourse » includes sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, analingus, anal intercourse and animate and inanimate sexual penetration of objects. Section 130.25 of the New York Penal Code criminalizes legal rape. The law states that anyone over the age of 21 who has sexual intercourse with someone under the age of 17 commits third-degree rape. Third-degree rape also applies to sexual intercourse with a person who is incapable or denied consent.
Third-degree rape is a Class E felony in New York City. According to State v. Limon (2005), the former Kansas Age of Consent Act, which did not apply to homosexuals, was struck down by the Kansas Supreme Court following Lawrence v. Texas in 2003. The Assimilative Crimes Act (18 U.S.C. § 13) includes local state criminal law on federal reserves such as Bureau of Land Management property, military posts and shipyards, national parks, national forests, among others. If an act is not punishable under federal law (such as 18 U.S.C. 2243(a) above), local state age of consent laws for the crime apply. Paraphrase of the Virgin Islands Code: V.I.C. § 1700–1709 Virgin Islands Code and Appeal Files Francis v.
VI NOTE: « A factual error regarding the age of the victim is not a defence. » The age of consent is 18. However, there is an age-related exemption that allows minors aged 16 and 17 to agree with a person under the age of five and minors between the ages of 13 and 15, but not with minors between the ages of 16 and older. § 11-37-6 Third-degree sexual assault. – A person is guilty of third-degree sexual assault if over eighteen (18) years of age and sexual penetration with another person over fourteen (14) years of age and under the age of consent (sixteen (16) years of age).  § 11-37-8.1 Sexual assault on abuse of a child in the first degree. A person is guilty of first-degree sexual assault if he or she commits sexual penetration with a person under the age of fourteen (14).  The age of consent in Georgia was found to remain at 10 until 1918, when it was raised to 14.    After the 1918 legislative amendments, Georgia still had the lowest age of consent in the country, as the other 47 states had raised the age of consent to 16 or 18.  The age of consent in Georgia remained at 14 until 1995, when a bill proposed by Steve Langford was passed to make 16 the age of consent.  Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Palmyra Atoll, and Wake Island are part of the Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument of the U.S. Department of the Interior.